COMPONENTS OF Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT)

There are four components of comprehensive DBT:

  • DBT skills group
  • Individual therapy
  • DBT phone coaching
  • DBT consultation team for the therapist’


DBT includes four behavioral skill modules, with two acceptance-oriented skills (mindfulness and distress tolerance) and two change-oriented skills (emotion regulation and interpersonal effectiveness).

  • Mindfulness: the practice of being fully aware and present in this one moment
  • Distress Tolerance: how to tolerate pain in difficult situations, not change it
  • Interpersonal Effectiveness: how to ask for what you want and say no while maintaining self-respect and relationships with others
  • Emotion Regulation: how to decrease vulnerability to painful emotions and change emotions that you want to change

To enroll, contact CACS at 605-224-5811.