CACS Presents 2017 Visionary Award

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Date: June 28, 2017
To: All Local Media
From: Mark Swendsen, Chair
Capital Area Counseling Service, Inc. Board Of Directors


The Capital Area Counseling Service (CACS) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the Pierre Police Department has won the Board’s Visionary Award. Board Chair, Mark Swendsen made the presentation at Tuesday evening’s Pierre City Commission. Chief Dave Panzer was on hand to receive the honor on behalf of the Police Officers. Swendsen, in his comments to the City Commission praised the Police Department for their compassion and respect when responding to citizens experiencing emotional crises. “The Qualified Mental Health Professionals, those CACS clinicians on call for the Mobile Crisis Response, often comment how blessed they are to have such a good working relationship with the Officers and how understanding they are. The officers always stay at the scene of a Mobile Crisis call as long as needed to ensure the client and our staff are safe”, Swendsen reported.

Chief Panzer spoke briefly when accepting the award about the good working relationship that exists between his department and CACS. Mayor Gill congratulated Chief Panzer and all the officers on their efforts at “community policing” in such a kind and caring way.

The CACS Visionary Award is given annually to an individual or group who are dedicated partners in assisting CACS in moving toward their Vision of “being a great place to receive care and a great place to work in Central South Dakota.” In realizing this Vision CACS seeks to: Ensure rapid access to affordable, comprehensive care for individuals and families, experiencing emotional or substance use problems through respectful, team-based, holistic care, which addresses their needs and achieves outcomes important to them; Promote the well-being and happiness of our employees by providing a healthy, rewarding workplace for those seeking careers in our region, thereby becoming an “employer of choice”, and also to promote the well-being of our citizens and communities; Network with our community partners in identifying areas of need and to work collaboratively; Practice sound financial, business and governance to support sustainability and future growth; Provide excellent services each day by employing people, who have a heartfelt connection to their community and serve those in need with a deep understanding of trauma, best clinical practices, and an unshakable commitment to resiliency, rehabilitation and recovery.

Past recipients of this award include: Ellen Lee, BO Lindbloom, James DM Russell, Donna Fjelstad, Lori S. Wilbur, Terry Dosch, Kristin Brost, Larry Weiss, Doris Holden. Mike Putzier, Bob Sutton, Jim & Cathie Bartels, Mansour Karim and Mike Leidholt.

Categories: CACS Announcements, Press Release


Leave a Reply:

Your Name:  
Your Email: